5 things

5 things India taught me:
1) blessed: we are so truly blessed and have way more than we need. True happiness doesn’t come from stuff as I saw demonstrated in Aizawl. True happiness doesn’t come from hot showers, iPhones, or even wi-fi. Share a bit of your blessings. Your trash is another’s treasure. Honestly. Literally.

2) Bible: I finished the novel I had brought with me on the trip and since I didn’t have anything else to read (I know this sounds awful) I picked up my Bible. And I’m really glad I did, just by reading it for a week I’ve learned a lot and feel more connected to God. It helped me out on the plane too. (Learned I hate flying! Deff have a slight fear- took 9 flights tho!)

3) future: I know I definitely have to do something with missions. I’ve heard the phrase “what breaks your heart is your passion”. Seeing all these kids and people in need breaks my heart and I know I can do something to change it. I would love to have an orphanage. I’ll be in another country again soon I hope. Whether it be in another country or America the less fortunate need a helping hand.

4) Be like the Mizos: their genuineness was unreal. A little girl came up to me at the children’s program, tugged my sleeve and looked up at me shyly and said “Miss, you are very beautiful”. Of all compliments I’ve ever received about my appearance this one actually touched my heart. She had no pretenses, no motives, and she saw me everyday with no makeup. Id like to think it was my interactions and moments with the kids that led her to her observations, and that it went deeper than just the outward appearance ,as she came up for another sleeve tug a few minutes later with a friend in tow this time and said “Miss you are so nice.” That meant a lot to me. The words of a child usually don’t have much of a filter. The Mizo people just accept you as you are, no judgement. they’re just happy to be with you.
I want to drop my judgements and be more like them. I know they made me feel so welcome and at peace being me, and I’d like others to feel like that around me. because I know there’s too many people in this world who have made me feel the opposite.

Also we have no idea what people have been through. There was a guy who I thought was a bit stuffy and could stand to loosen up. He later shared his story with me and I found out his entire village had been burned down as a child, he later became an Adventist and his own father tried multiple times to kill him and his sisters because of their decision to follow Christ. All of this before he was 20 years old. I didn’t know him but yet I had passed judgement. Let’s just not. Everyone’s got their own demons, let’s not pretend we know them all.

5) Simple things: it’s the simple things that make me laugh and smile. Learned I really like Bollywood. The things you enjoy may seem quirky to others, but just BE YOU! Learn to be comfortable with yourself and learn it’s okay to be alone. “It’s okay not to like what other people pretend to love.” Sometimes quiet time with your mind is so needed. be around people who make you laugh-my dad kept me dying laughing the entire trip- laughter truly is good for your soul. Get to know your parents.

This is a song a friend and I changed the lyrics around for a performance at camp and I think it’s the perfect way to end all this:

Then I found Jesus
He’s the one who’ll always love me
Now I’m praying to my savior
And I know I’ve found the answer
He said I’ve got a heart that He’s already died for
So how could I want more
Now I don’t want more

Much love and stay Irie
And now go on your own adventure!
-Bri ❤

20140711-000258-178338.jpg

5 thoughts on “5 things

Leave a comment